Skip to main content

Policy priority: Home in Government

collage of charities
Policy priority: The nonprofit sector needs a home in government

Charities and nonprofits have no federal entity responsible for the sector’s wellbeing or addressing systemic issues that impact it, despite being one of the three pillars of the Canadian economy.

Why it matters
Charities and nonprofits are a crucial part of Canada’s social fabric. However, a host of issues, ranging from inefficient and ineffective funding practices to regulations governing how charities can partner with non-charities, impact the sector systemically. Even as government after government counts on the health of the sector to deliver on many promises and programs, there is no entity in Government responsible for ensuring the well-being of charities and nonprofits as a sector. This benign neglect means that the full potential of charities and nonprofits has yet to be unleashed. 
Did you know?
  • The charitable and nonprofit sector contributes 8.7% to GDP - more than the fisheries sector (1.65%) or agriculture (6.7%). However, our sector is the only one of the three that does not have a home in government. 
  • Due to the lack of a home in government, nonprofits may be excluded from Government programs that could benefit them, such as programs that encourage innovation or environmentally-friendly business practices.
  • In times of crisis, such as the COVID-19 pandemic, the lack of a home in government for our sector means that there is no unified policy response. Instead, we have to fight for inclusion in each individual relief measure or program. 
Our ask
We recommend that the federal government establish a “home” for the sector within the permanent machinery of government, in accordance with the recommendations brought forward by the Special Senate Committee on the Charitable Sector.
Examples from other jurisdictions
  • In Quebec, the Ministry of Labour and Social Solidarity has a mandate to foster community action and volunteerism, guided by a Government policy on community action. The policy aims to promote and foster community action; to promote and foster the work of community organizations; to consolidate policies related to community action across the government to ensure consistency; and to recognize and support volunteerism in community organizations. 
  • The provincial government in British Columbia includes a Parliamentary Secretary for Community Development and Non-Profits. The Parliamentary Secretary is tasked with “Working to ensure charitable organizations and the non-profit sector are engaged and supported through the COVID-19 pandemic and recovery and supporting charitable organizations and the non-profit sector by acting as the advocate and key point of contact within government.”
  • The Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC) is the country’s regulator of charities, but also has a role in promoting the sector. The ACNC was established to maintain, protect and enhance public trust and confidence in the Australian not-for-profit sector; support and sustain a robust, vibrant, independent and innovative not-for-profit sector; and promote the reduction of unnecessary regulatory obligations on the sector. Australia’s Assistant Minister for Treasury and Finance is responsible for the ACNC.
Learn more

(Imagine Canada, 2019)

(Imagine Canada, 2019)

(Special Senate Committee on the Charitable Sector, 2019) - recommendations 20, 21 and 22.

(Advisory Committee on the Charitable Sector, 2021) recommendation 3.

Stay in the know with our policy & advocacy newsletter
Get the latest in policy, advocacy and research news impacting the nonprofit and charitable sector. Our weekly Early Alert newsletter is curated to deliver the most important Government announcements, legislative updates, data, calls for policy or RFP submissions, advocacy campaigns, and opportunities to get involved in policy and advocacy.

Aller au contenu principal

Policy priority: Home in Government

collage of charities
Priorité stratégique : Le secteur caritatif doit avoir sa place au sein du gouvernement

Il n’existe pas d’entité gouvernementale responsable d'assurer le bien-être et la résilience du secteur caritatif, malgré qu’il soit un des trois piliers de l’économie canadienne.

Pourquoi est-ce important?
Les organismes de bienfaisance et à but non lucratif constituent une part importante du tissu social du Canada. Toutefois, un ensemble d’enjeux affectent le secteur, allant de pratiques de financement inefficaces à des règlements posant un obstacle à la collaboration entre les organismes de bienfaisance et d’autres types d’organisations, qu’elles soient à but lucratif ou non . Gouvernement après gouvernement, on compte sur le secteur à but non lucratif pour mettre en œuvre plusieurs programmes et promesses faites à la population, mais il n’y a toujours pas d’entité gouvernementale qui soit responsable d’assurer le bien-être et la résilience du secteur caritatif. Autrement dit, on ne profite pas du plein potentiel du secteur.
Le saviez-vous?
  • Le secteur caritatif contribue à 8,7 % du PIB – plus que le secteur de la pêche (1,65 %) ou de l’agriculture (6,7 %). Toutefois, notre secteur est le seul des trois à ne pas avoir sa place au gouvernement.
  • En raison de ce manque, les organismes caritatifs peuvent être exclus des programmes gouvernementaux dont ils pourraient tirer profit, tels que des programmes encourageant l’innovation ou des pratiques d’affaires respectueuses de l’environnement.
  • En temps de crise, comme c’est le cas avec la pandémie de COVID-19, l’absence de représentation du secteur au sein du gouvernement pose un défi à une réponse politique cohérente. À défaut, nous devons plutôt nous battre pour être inclus dans chaque mesure ou programme d’aide du gouvernement.
Ce que nous demandons
Nous recommandons au gouvernement d'assurer une place permanente dédiée au secteur caritatif au sein de l’appareil gouvernemental, en conformité avec les recommandations du Comité sénatorial spécial sur le secteur de la bienfaisance et du Comité consultatif sur le secteur de la bienfaisance.
Des exemples à l’échelle provinciale et internationale
  • Au Québec, le ministère du Travail, de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale a pour mandat de renforcer les actions communautaires et bénévoles, en s’appuyant sur la Politique gouvernementale sur l’action communautaire. Les principaux objectifs de cette politique sont de promouvoir et de soutenir l’action communautaire et les organismes communautaires; de renforcer la cohérence des politiques liées aux actions communautaires et qui s’appliquent à l’ensemble des ministères et organismes gouvernementaux; et de reconnaître et de soutenir l’action bénévole telle qu’exercée dans les organismes communautaires.
  • Le gouvernement de Colombie-Britannique inclut un secrétaire parlementaire pour le développement communautaire et des organismes à but non lucratif. Plus spécifiquement, le secrétaire parlementaire a pour mandat d’« appuyer et d’assurer l’implication des organismes de bienfaisance et à but non lucratif durant la pandémie de COVID-19 et de soutenir le secteur en agissant comme défenseur de leurs intérêts et point de contact privilégié au sein du gouvernement ». 
  • La Commission australienne pour les organismes de bienfaisance et à but non lucratif (ACNC) est l’organisme national ayant pour mandat de régir les organismes de bienfaisance, mais aussi d’en faire la promotion. L’ACNC a été créée en décembre 2012 avec pour objectifs de : maintenir, protéger et accroître la confiance de la population envers le secteur à but non lucratif australien; de soutenir le secteur et d’en assurer le caractère dynamique, indépendant et novateur; et de promouvoir la réduction d’obligations réglementaires jugées superflues ou injustifiées. Le sous-ministre adjoint du Trésor et des Finances est responsable de l’ACNC.
En savoir plus

(Imagine Canada, 2019)

(Imagine Canada, 2019)

(Comité sénatorial spécial sur le secteur de la bienfaisance, 2019) - recommandations 20, 21 et 22.

(Comité consultatif sur le secteur de la bienfaisance, 2021) recommandation 3.

Restez informé grâce à notre infolettre
Recevez les dernières nouvelles en matière de politiques, de plaidoyer et de recherche ayant un impact sur le secteur de bienfaisance et à but non lucratif. Notre Bulletin d’alerte hebdomadaire comprend tout ce qu’il y a à connaître concernant les annonces gouvernementales, les lois, les données, les appels à propositions, les campagnes de plaidoyer et des occasions de participer à des activités politiques et de plaidoyer.