-A +A

Imagine Canada

Strong Charities. Strong Communities.

The Standards

What are the Standards?

Standards Program Handbook

There are 73 Standards that organizations are expected to meet before they can receive accreditation.

The Standards are focused into five areas:

  • Board Governance
  • Financial Accountability and Transparency
  • Fundraising
  • Staff Management
  • Volunteer Involvement

To make the Standards Program as accessible as possible, the Standards have been categorized into three levels based on the size of your organization.

Download the Standards Program handbook using the form below to learn more about the process, the requirements and the standards.

Download the Standards handbook now

Fill out my online form.

Did you know? The Standards were developed by a volunteer steering committee and approved by the Standards Council.

Going through the Standards Program gave us the opportunity to update and compare policies against leading practices, and provided direction for both board members and staff alike. Although the process of ensuring good governance is never complete, it’s important to provide volunteers with a level of comfort that the organization has a strong framework, and the Standards Program does that.
~ Deirdre Roberts, Past Chair, Victoria Foundation

Working as a team, we were able to increase our organization’s transparency and capacity, and to strengthen public confidence in KidsAbility Foundation and the nonprofit sector as a whole – one of the key goals set forth by the Standards Program.”
~ Lisa Talbot, KidsAbility Foundation

Our National Partners

  • great west life
  • Lawson Foundation
  • Muttart Foundation
  • RBC Foundation
  • Suncor
  • TD Bank
  • investors group

Learn more about our National Partners and other supporters.

Charitable Registration Number: 119218790 RR0001