Skip to main content

Policy priority: charities to partner with non-charities

collage of charities
Policy priority: It should be easier for charities to partner with non-charities

Rules aimed at protecting public and charitable funds make it difficult for charities to partner with non-charities, resulting in equity-seeking communities having less access to these funds. 

Why it matters?
Current legislation prevents charities from providing funds to non-charities unless they enter into an agreement whereby they exercise “direction and control” over the activities of their non-charity partner. This requirement significantly hinders equitable partnerships between charities and non-charities. Partnerships are key to ensuring that charities are able to respond to complex and ever-changing issues, and to ensuring that communities served by charities are placed on equal footing and are able to co-create solutions. 
Did you know?
  • Charities are only able to gift to ‘qualified donees’, a term which includes registered charities, municipalities, and other entities that are able to issue donation receipts.
  • Many, such as First Nations communities and grassroots organizations, are not qualified donees and are therefore unable to receive funding from charities. This results in many equity-seeking groups having less access to charitable funds. 
  • Direction and control requirements exist in tension with Canadian international development policy and contemporary international development values (e.g., local ownership and participative and inclusive decision-making).
Our ask
  • That Bill S-222, The Effective and Accountable Charities Act, be passed into law. Introduced by Senator Ratna Omidvar in February 2021, the Bill would amend the Income Tax Act to enable charities to establish equal partnerships with non-charities while still ensuring accountability and transparency.
Learn more

Special Senate Committee on the Charitable Sector, 2019 - recommendation 30

The Pemsel Case Foundation, 2015 - 2019

Cooperation Canada, 2019

Ontario Nonprofit Network, 2021

Advisory Committee on the Charitable Sector, 2021 - recommendation #1

Stay in the know with our policy & advocacy newsletter
Get the latest in policy, advocacy and research news impacting the nonprofit and charitable sector. Our weekly Early Alert newsletter is curated to deliver the most important Government announcements, legislative updates, data, calls for policy or RFP submissions, advocacy campaigns, and opportunities to get involved in policy and advocacy.

NATIONAL PARTNERS

Aller au contenu principal

Policy priority: charities to partner with non-charities FR

collage of charities
Priorité stratégique : Faciliter la collaboration entre les organismes de bienfaisance et leurs partenaires

Les règlements visant à protéger les fonds publics et caritatifs posent un obstacle à la collaboration entre les organismes de bienfaisance et leurs partenaires qui oeuvrent en dehors du secteur caritatif, rendant ainsi ces fonds moins accessibles pour les organismes en quête d’équité.

Pourquoi est-ce important?
Les lois actuelles empêchent les organismes de bienfaisance d’octroyer des fonds à des organismes sans vocation de bienfaisance, à moins de conclure un accord selon lequel ils « dirigent et contrôlent » les activités et dépenses de l’organisme sans vocation de bienfaisance. Cette exigence compromet sérieusement l’établissement de partenariats équitables. Sans partenariat, il est difficile pour les organismes de bienfaisance de répondre adéquatement à des problèmes complexes et en constante évolution et d’assurer que les communautés desservies participent de manière équitable à la co-création de solutions.
Le saviez-vous?
  • Les organismes de bienfaisance peuvent seulement financer des « donataires reconnus », soit des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés, des municipalités et d’autres organismes en mesure de délivrer des reçus de dons.
  • De nombreux organismes, par exemple au sein des communautés autochtones, ne se qualifient pas comme « donataires reconnus » et ne peuvent donc pas recevoir de financement de la part d’organismes de bienfaisance. Cela pose un défi en matière d’accessibilité des fonds caritatifs.
  • Les exigences en matière de « direction et de contrôle» entrent en contradiction avec la politique de développement international du Canada et les valeurs qui lui sont associées (p. ex. appropriation locale, participation et inclusion aux prises de décisions)
Ce que nous demandons
  • Le projet de loi S-222, Loi sur l’efficacité et la responsabilité des organismes de bienfaisance, doit être adopté. Présenté par la sénatrice Ratna Omidvar en février 2021, le projet de loi modifierait la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu afin de permettre aux organismes de bienfaisance d’établir des partenariats équitables avec des organismes sans vocation de bienfaisance, tout en assurant transparence et imputabilité.
En savoir plus

Comité sénatorial spécial sur le secteur de la bienfaisance, 2019 - recommandation 30.

The Pemsel Case Foundation, 2015 - 2019

Coopération Canada, 2019

Ontario Nonprofit Network, 2021

Comité consultatif sur le secteur de la bienfaisance, 2021 - recommandation 1.

Restez informé grâce à notre infolettre
Recevez les dernières nouvelles en matière de politiques, de plaidoyer et de recherche ayant un impact sur le secteur de bienfaisance et à but non lucratif. Notre Bulletin d’alerte hebdomadaire comprend tout ce qu’il y a à connaître concernant les annonces gouvernementales, les lois, les données, les appels à propositions, les campagnes de plaidoyer et des occasions de participer à des activités politiques et de plaidoyer.